John C. Hall, Jr.: The Pride of Dublin, Georgia

Sometimes posting under the moniker “Fortpillow,” John C. Hall, Jr., of Dublin, Georgia, is a CPA who also has taught on an adjunct basis at a local technical college.  He’s quite fond of the Confederacy and recently dressed up in his Confederate uniform to celebrate his purchase of a historic house for his business.  He’s also a proud member of the Southern Heritage Preservation Group, where he once declared, “Forrest is my hero. His picture hangs on my wall. I don’t give a rat’s ass about whining liberals regarding him. One of my screen names if Fort Pillow. To me he is the standard of fighting for the cause in Dixy.”

Good enough.  So let’s see what “Fortpillow” posted recently in the comments section of a blog post at The Atlantic:

Ah but Mr. Litvak…..let’s see Litvak is of Lithainian Jewish ancestry I wonder how long your seed has been upon this land? Mine has been here quite a while….Irish and Scot….I have the actual letters from my Confederate Ancestor.  He spoke of Dixy you see as written in one of his letters. He was quite patriotic in his fever to defend his country. He even discusses his servants/slaves. My grandmother gave me a gift…a gift of the truth…what have ye?

And then there’s this …

Villani….I believe that is Italian. What boat did your people come on to arrive at Ellis Island?….There is a pattern shown by those who vilify the South such as yourself…..Ancestry does matter sir!……..

In the South a “large number of the people who settled the South were from a Scots-Irish mix and Huguenots. This is distinctly different from the influential English and Puritan settlement seen in the north. The groups maintained different world views. Those settling in the South held many common values. These values include polite manners, landed gentry, love of sports (including fighting), hospitality, quiet living, love of vocal music, pride in their ancestry, loyalty to local chieftains rather than a central authority and dangerous adventure.They also maintained a fierce love of independent thought in intellectual pursuits and religion. They maintained a “live and let live philosophy” as opposed to the Yankee/Puritan north that wanted to ‘save’ the world and tell others how to live their lives because they sincerely believed their ways were superior to those of other areas or religions.”According to the above quote…Our views differ and have always differed…it is our ancestry that sets us apart! My sword is my words and I shall unsheathe it to deal with your un- justified superiority complex.

And, finally, there’s this ….

Sierk is German…no doubt another recent immigrant to America post War of Northern aggression. And how long has your seed been in this land? Were your ancestor’s the mercenaries brought to give thee free land to slaughter the Southern Solider?

Yes, sir, John C. Hall Jr., CPA, of Dublin, Georgia, is an interesting person.

UPDATE: For John C. Hall’s bragging about pretending to be a blind person so he could sneak his dog into a hotel, see this.

UPDATE: For John C. Hall displaying an even uglier side of his character, look here.

86 thoughts on “John C. Hall, Jr.: The Pride of Dublin, Georgia

  1. Wow…Just Wow. I wonder how he would handle me. Meyer is the last name and yes the Meyer name came from Germany in the Post-war years. However the other parts of my genealogy include two members of the Mayflower, a Puritan arriving in 1634 in the Mass. Bay Colony as well as an immigrant who in 1701 lived in Virginia and owned a slave. His family eventually makes it up North and had sons in the war for the North. I would imagine John C. Hall’s head would explode dealing with all of that.

    I also read that Mr. Hall made an appearance on one of the 2000 cover of the SPLC Intellegence Report. He has been on the racial radar for some time.

    • And for what it is worth, two of my great-great-granduncles (Albert and William Seip) were Pennsylvania Dutch volunteers who were officers in Colored Cavalry Regiments. Before that they ran a German language newspaper, despite being native-born Americans (I think their family came to America around 1752). I thought German immigrants were firm supporters of the Union and am frankly miffed that Mr. Hall ignores them, as if the only people (or only people that mattered) living in America during the Civil War were from England or Scotland.

      (and might as well point out that Shao Ping is my nom de blog; I’m not Chinese but German-Scot, though apparently even the one Scottish Virginian ancestor I know of fought for the Union)

  2. People should pay more attention to their population history, wherein they’d learn that a large proportion of the early settlers of Massachusetts were, in fact, Scotch-Irish, particularly in the Connecticut River valley.

  3. In addition, the first white settlers of Virginia were English. As for Pennsylvania, there were large Scotch-Irish and Anabaptist German populations drawn to colonial Pennsylvania by the tolerant policies of William Penn. Shao, it sounds like our German ancestors (Father’s side in my case) arrived in PA around the same time. My mother’s family is Scottish (her mother was born in the US of Scottish parents who were naturalized US citizens but returned to Scotland when Grandma was 8; Grandma returned to the US with my grandfather in the early 20th century after their marriage). My father had an ancestor who qualified him for membership in SAR (must have been the black sheep of the family ). According to my mother’s family lore, a relative of hers also fought in the Revolution, but with the Black Watch.

    I find people like Mr. Hall who find some intrinsic merit in the accident of fate as to which boat one’s ancestors caught and when circumstances at home impelled them to seek their fortunes elsewhere to be pathetic and insecure.

  4. Not to be unkind but with all the mention of “seed”, it’s just too bad that the one producing Mr. Hall, Jr. didn’t end up in the dirt. Washed away, forever, by the next rain. I wonder if ethnic background comes into play when prospective clients are involved. Of course, I’m only assuming the CPA stands for Certified Public Accountant. The acronym could actually be for something completely different.

    Oh, by the way, before the speculation begins, it’s Mayflower lineage with a cousin that fought at Bunker Hill and another cousin who died on Little Round Top with the 20th Maine.

  5. Mr. Simpson…bravo….I appreciate the notoriety. To have an entire post on your blog dedicated to me is confirmation of the word tactic. However, Achilles did have a heel for which you have and which I do not. I see you have brought your little wolves in for a feast. They are deceived sir! I framed the Intelligence Report and it hangs on my wall in my professional office. Micheal Hill, Kirk Lyons and Wallace all share the same page with me. I am most proud of the lead article picture. That btw was a very good Cuban cigar.

    • Hello, racist.

      It’s so good to learn that you hold a state-issued professional license. Even better, it’s a license you need to earn a living.

      I wonder how the GSCPA and State Board regard hate speech? The GSCPA web site says “..a certified public accountant assumes an obligation of self-discipline above and beyond the requirements of laws and regulations” as it directs people to the code of professional conduct established by the AICPA (naturally located in the heart of Yankeedom). The AICPA says “a certified public accountant assumes an obligation of self-discipline above and beyond the requirements of laws and regulations..” and goes on to say that “..The public interest is defined as the collective well-being of the community of people and institutions the profession serves.

      The AICPA also calls for “..unswerving commitment to honorable behavior.. by CPAs and the Georgia State Board of Accountancy has defined acts that “reflect adversely on … fitness to engage in the practice of public accounting” as “discreditable“.

      You’ve engaged the American public with unadulterated hate speech on multiple occasions. On this very blog, you have acknowledged authorship of vile, racist comments made on a national magazine’s website several weeks ago. I’m sure that Prof. Simpson and others could quickly compile a history of your “Fortpillow” commenting career.

      You might want to take a deep breath and ponder what “Certified Public Accountant” stands for. It doesn’t take much effort to craft a complaint to the State Board, GSCPA and AICPA, with choice examples of Fortpillow’s commentary. Perhaps Georgia ethics requirements give a pass to a permanent public record of unadulterated racism. Perhaps not.

      Think it over and do something smart. I’m more than happy to explain how your discreditable acts have harmed the collective well-being of the community and dishonored your profession.

      In case you haven’t figured it out, I’m fairly persuasive.

      TR

      PS – passed the CPA exam in ’82.

        • I am shaking in my boots. I see you called your wolves in for the feast. I do find this great entertainment and satisfying. Someone has to call out the elite abolitionists and put them in their place. I’m just a good old rebel…..take a listen to the song. Then you can really understand John C. Hall, Jr. CPA.

        • BTW….shouldn’t the title of your blog start with other stuff? Still looking forward to the Dean and head of the history department’s response. They probably are not aware of all this “Other stuff”.

            • The games are world famous! They were started as a response to the Atlanta Olympics. We have toilet seat tossin…bobbing for pig’s feet and the best is the belly flop contest. They are bout 5 miles from my plantation. Billy Payne and I should be meeting up in the next few weeks about my book on the Olympic games.

      • Ah the raven returns. Having a little fun with Cryptography eh? You have similar traits as the author of your mentor as he slowly descended into madness. I’m just a good ole rebel…one of my favs.

  6. This is a subject I know something about, especially that part of Georgia. I can tell this now that in retired , my office use to be a few blocks down from the Georgia archives , I had a job that I could come and go as I pleased somewhat like my own boss, Days I was in a bad mood I would go down to the archives and set for hours on end reading every thing on file about that area of Georgia, Laurens County Twiggs County, Pulaski County and a few other surrounding counties. My mothers family were some of the original people that settled in that area. What my research seems to indicate is most of those that settled in that area of Georgia was from, further southeast Georgia, North & South Carolina and a few from Virginia. I saw very few that settled in that area from Europe or elsewhere. Reading obituaries post war listed very few former slaves as being born in Africa. Most that settled in that area of Georgia were sons and daughters of planters that took advantage of land lotteries that opened up, not Europeans coming to America. I think most of those that settled in that area identified more with their antebellum southern roots than the ancestral European roots. Most of the people in that area both slave and white in 1860 were multi-genarational American , most 3 to 4 generations or more.

  7. One of my ancestral homes in that area of Georgia has been turned into a restaurant. It’s in a place called Montrose, Ga on hwy 26 going toward Dublin. It’s an old antebellum house built in the 1840′s . It was sold out of our family in the 1930′s but the people that owned it were family friends and our family still visited the house over the years. It was resold a few years ago to a family from Florida and they turned it into a horse farm and a restaurant. I have drove down an eaten there several times and have gotten to know the people. One interesting point there is nothing Civil War related anywhere in the house. I know there was no action in that part of Georgia but numerous served in that area during the Civil War. And I would think it reasonable to believe by the amount of support for the Confederacy and the number of those of the planter class that were in the area that most supported secession. Interestingly post Civil War writings and numerous family letters our family have kept never mention the war. It seems that area of post Civil War Georgia was much more interested in building railroads and propagating agriculture than talking about the Civil War. Some in my family wasn’t happy about our old ancestral home being turned into a restaurant. But my thinking is, it is being well taken care of and I can go visit anytime I want and the food is good too. They have great fried Gator tail :-) http://www.sajewindsplantation.com/

  8. We have been to the restaurant mentioned in Montrose. One would expect to be treated to a real Antebellum experience from the outside. The horse aspect is nice and we took the carriage around the block. However, when you enter the house you might as well be in any Florida restaurant. The charm and grace of the old south is nowhere to be found. Very disappointing.

    I own the Hardy Smith House in Dublin, Georgia. Built in 1873 it is historically accurate with a $5,000 state of Georgia Marker and on the National Register. Captain Hardy Smith lost his arm at the Battle of Mechanicsville. The Confederate Battle Flag proudly flies in downtown Dublin.

    http://hardysmithhouse.blogspot.com/

          • You got me on the spelling…I will give you that………they didn’t really teach us much at the Atlanta public schools during desegregation. Of course if I had gone to a private boarding school in New Hampshire I would probably know how to spell a bit better. BTW I find using a pen name a bit less egotistical and strategically valuable.

            • How strategically valuable? Are you ashamed that the good people of Dublin, Georgia, might associate you with your sentiments? Are you afraid that the readers of the Courier Herald might just find out what the fellow in the CSA uniform who works out of the historic house says about his “seed”?

              Come on, John C. Hall, Jr. Post under your real name. Forrest would have. He had guts.

              • Griffin Lovett owns the paper and now owns my Grandmother’s birth home. The same home my GGrandfather owned which is one of the finest Antebellum homes in Dublin built circa 1895. I own the oldest home in Dublin built in 1873. It is on the national register. Glad you agree Forrest had guts. He has been the standard for me in dealing with the enemies of the South for many years. I am sure you would tell me to go to hell if I told you how to write.

    • The Coley house was sold before I even knew it was on the market. I wasn’t interested in buying it, I’m wanting to downsize and that house wouldn’t be downsizing :-). I like the house across the road also , It once belonged to my great aunt and her husband. Growing up I visited those houses and many more in the area. I well remember the aroma of gardenias , jasmine and wisteria.

      • I don’t know what you are talking about. Since you are so obsessed with when someone’s family came to this country, I’ll explain: I can trace my family back to some American Indian connections, so my “seed” has been in this country a lot longer than yours.

        • History is more than just the War of Rebellion sir. I liken your comments regarding killing my seed to the slaughter of the by the English in the battle of Waxhaws in 1780. Epperson is English in case you did not know that. Tarleton led the loyalists (The British) against Buford’s Continental army (The Americans)….while a victory for England, the slaughter of the Americans caused more Americans to join the fight and eventually defeat the British.

          • No sir, Epperson is French, derived from Jean Duc de Epernon, born in the Netherlands, son of minor French nobility, whose son, Thomas (b. New Kent Co., Virginia, 1685) styled himself as Epperson. Thomas was my gggggg-grandfather.

            • I based the name being English on this information…….there must be variations of the name?

              Epperson Early Origins

              Spelling variations in names were a common occurrence before English spelling was standardized a few hundred years ago. In the Middle Ages, even the literate spelled their names differently as the English language incorporated elements of French, Latin, and other European languages. Many variations of the name Epperson have been found, including Apps, Apse, Abbs, Abb, App, Apsey, Epps, Ebbs, Epsey, Epp and many more.
              First found in the county of Middlesex in southern England where they held a family seat from very ancient times. During the Norman Conquest of England in 1066, unlike many Saxon families, bearers of this name managed to hold onto much of their holdings and these are recorded in the Domesday Book, [1] a census taken in 1086 by King William of all land holders.

            • Here you nicely illustrate that trying to determine someone’s national origins based on last names is simply bad genealogy. First, it completely discounts the influence of any other ancestors, notably through the mother’s line. I had a friend whose last name was Italian thanks to his father, but he was seventh-eighths Irish; his grandfather had been in the IRA. Second it discounts people like your ancestor who altered or completely changed their names–I have a friend of Hungarian descent whose grandfather took a very English name. Finally, it ignores the fact that the nation-state is a very recent development. Over two hundred years my ancestors wandered from France to Flanders to the Spanish Netherlands to Scotland to Virginia by 1750. So is my “seed” French? Belgian? Dutch? Scottish? English and Russian thanks to my mother’s family? Native American thanks to my grandmother?

              • Excellent points, Prof. Noe. Looking only at my last name overlooks the significant Germanic element (Straube, Warinner) from my mother’s side. My wife is largely German and Central European, but you would never know it from her maiden name of White.

              • A Cracker like me needs to have an idea of where someone is from to root em out. If that is the only thing I have to go by on the last name of someone it gives a clue if they are from the South or god forbid a Yankee.

  9. Well, I’m doing my own genealogy, Mr. Hall, and it is German, at least my last name is, my father’s line having immigrated from the Alsatz region in 1748. They came to Pennsylvania, sick and tired of the landed gentry, sick of his ancestor’s struggle against being serfs, and sick of religious wars, too. My grandfather’s first name was Thaddeus, named after Thad Stevens, the main author of the 14th amendment. My great-grandfather joined up as soon as they fired on Sumter and stayed to the end.

    • Jim H, I wish everyone would learn their ancestry. My second cousin is a retired Doctor in South Georgia. He won the UDC geneological award at the State convention in Valdosta last year. Through his efforts I now have access to a series of letters written by my GGGrandfather and Great Grandfather. From my ancestors pen I have a chance to see history come alive. It is un-embellished and the source of a book I am writing currently. I have been lucky to have one of the letters refer to the family genealogy (Yes 100 years ago my family was working on the genealogy) I am related to Hugh LePalmer who has been well documented as distinguishing himself in the Third Crusade 1189-1192 (of Richard I the “Lionheart”, of England) for slaying a “Paynim Knight” and for capturing one of the “Saracen standards”. Saracen refers to muslims.

  10. Nobody can choose their existence! You come into this world—white or black—rich or poor— beautiful or ugly–etc. It matters what you do with your life and what you can do with the cards you are dealt. That’s what America is all about!!!!! So who cares about your great, great, great granddaddy!!!!

  11. fortpillow remimds me of grade school on the playground—kids saying stuff like, “my dad can beat up your dad” etc. Very silly!

  12. Except here it is my gggg-granddaddy beat up your gggg-granddaddy, only it is not the case since he continues to hilariously get ancestries wrong despite obvious clues (hi James Epperson and your apparently forest-dwelling Redcoat relatives!), probably based on bogus anecdotes he learned at his GGrandfather’s knee in their antebellum house from 1895.

    (and neither here nor there, but the only Hugh le Palmer I could discover was a juror in 1255, 63 years after the Third Crusade ended. Perhaps he or another Hugh le Palmer did go on the crusade, but he hardly seems well documented; the only other Hugh le Palmer I could find was murdered in 1306; even worse, both le Palmer’s were apparently British, though I speculate they may have been–gasp–French, which clearly explains Mr. Hall’s fiery passion and disregard for facts; Google turns up no Hugh LePalmers).

    • Google can be a wonderful thing for research. However it is not the best. When I google Shao Ping I get Chinese Massage Therapy. I guess Shao Ping is Chinese unless Deng Xiaoping is a hero of yours. Dr. Stewart in New Zealand tells me it is actually Hugh and not Ralph Palmer that is the correct name.

  13. This is hilarious. A man buys an old wooden home in Georgia, then talks about re-enactment and re-fighting the war. Hmm, what was it about Georgia and Union soldiers near the end of the war, again?
    Seriously, Mr. Hall, be thankful we see you as a crank and not an actual threat.

  14. Pingback: Connie Provides New Outlet for Suspicious Characters « THE BLOOD OF MY KINDRED

  15. Like Mr. Hall stated I am Scotch Irish and Cherokee,my family has been in this land for 405 years. My four great grandfathers ago was a slave owner in the same county I was born in, my third great grandfather was from here aswell and fought the entire length of the civil war in the 18th Ga inf and was inventually a confederate officer and prisoner of war so I wear these blood ties as badges of great honor and I always will so screw all the liberals the Islamic trash the illegal fake president and all other johnny come lately sons of bitches

Leave a Reply

