A Note to My Readers

Last week, as you know, I reported on how Pat Hines spoke of violence against innocent children as a way to achieve his political objectives on the Facebook group “Backsass!” run by fellow southern nationalist Connie Chastain. Some readers followed my suggestion to report the threat to Facebook using their rather flawed system; others took the threats to the FBI.

For those who shared this information with the FBI, I thank you. For those of you who reported on Facebook’s failure to act (as well as those of you who shrugged that you did not do Facebook), I hope this is not the end of your concern about the issue. Facebook’s managed to make itself complicit in this matter, and its failure to act ought to be highlighted … and it is being highlighted as I type.

After several recent massacres at campuses and other public places in the United States, people raised questions about whether people knew about someone’s instability or whether the warning systems in place were sufficient. A lot of second-guessing went on. Here we have a case where a man who has spoken of acts of violence in the name of southern nationalism now speaks of murdering innocent children, and makes no apologies for it. Facebook refuses to reject such language. There’s time to do something about it.

What will you do?

For those of you without Facebook accounts, click here to file a complaint against this act. This may be helpful.

For those of you interested in contacting the Department of Homeland Security, click here.

Thanks again.

8 thoughts on “A Note to My Readers

  1. Francis Gallo October 1, 2012 / 4:10 pm

    I have filed my complaint and I encourage all who may be so inclined to do so as well. I also watched the video of the Balsan massacre which was posted on Backsass. I would encourage anyone who has not watched it to do so in order to get a better picture of just how contemptible were the comments of Pat Hines. Anyone with any measure of pride in their Southern heritage should let their voices be heard as well. Pat Hines threat leaves a stain on this heritage and folks should hear your objections to his remarks. A dead, ringing silence just won’t cut it.

  2. Corey Meyer October 1, 2012 / 6:32 pm

    Complaint filed with Facebook, I also filed a complaint on Pat’s page as well.

    • Francis Gallo October 1, 2012 / 7:35 pm

      Thanks, Corey. Glad you could take the time to help out.

  3. Margaret D. Blough October 1, 2012 / 7:39 pm

    I filed a complaint with Facebook on Connie’s account. I know there is a limit on what we can do, but I feel strongly that this specific a threat can’t be ignored and has to be brought to the attention of the authorities. There are no guarantees whatever we do or don’t do, but I do feel that when one feels such apprehension at a statement, that needs to be respected.

  4. SF Walker October 1, 2012 / 8:16 pm

    I filed a complaint about this with Facebook as well. Facebook replied that they found nothing wrong with the content on the site in question and will take no further action.

    In light of FB’s lack of action on matters like these in the past, I’m shocked but not surprised.

  5. Francis Gallo October 1, 2012 / 8:28 pm

    With due respect, Ms. Blough, there actually is no limit on what we can do. And I believe we have done a lot so far. I tried to contact the SNC, of which Hines’ is a member to request that he be formally censured by that organization, but I couldn’t get the contact link to work. Maybe someone else could give it a shot. I went through Pat Hines FB page once (when I got the info on his association with the SNC) but when I went back I found I was blocked. Coincidentally I found the Backsass posting of Hines’ comments absent. Interesting.

    There is no call for overreaction. Merely a call to action, and we have done that. Now we should all remember the old maxim “With knowledge comes power”. If you have the inclination familiarize yourselves with the workings of the diverse organizations which espouse the Southern agenda and be familiar with at least a few of the names associated with them.

    • Brooks D. Simpson October 1, 2012 / 10:03 pm

      When one is blocked by someone else on Facebook, you don’t see anything they post anywhere.

  6. bdhamp October 2, 2012 / 12:27 am

    If you really want Facebook to take notice, find some potential copyright violation and report it. They act on those complaints, even bogus ones, all the time.

Leave a Reply

