Crooning in the Classroom

One of the challenges facing a college professor is that of keeping students engaged during class lectures, especially large classes. In smaller classes, even lecture classes, professors can make eye contact, gauge reaction, and hold students accountable for their behavior. In a larger class, one wrestles with what to do with laptops that are not being used for note-taking or research; the occasional student newspaper (this problem has declined, in least in format, since the rise of the online paper); the mad texter working away at their smartphone; and so on.

But there are other forms of distraction, apparently.

Oh my. Oh, Canada.

3 thoughts on “Crooning in the Classroom

  1. Bob Nelson October 17, 2013 / 12:23 pm

    Very funny! Taught JH band and HS choir but then the band kids all had noisemakers in their hands. LOL Could have used some singing later as superintendent during my administrative meetings, which I found boring so can only imagine what my principals and supervisors thought of them.

  2. John Foskett October 17, 2013 / 1:36 pm

    So this is “ootside” what is tolerated during Simpson lectures, eh….

  3. John Randolph October 17, 2013 / 8:39 pm

    Oh, Canada, indeed … the hoser giving away the flowers does my Canadian heart proud with, like, some great crooning, eh? Almost made me cry into my cup of Timmy’s. However, I don’t think I will try this on my American wife in front of her students as I don’t want to give her any reason to think “aboot” exercising her Second Amendment rights towards her spouse.šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

