Want to Take a Course for Credit on the Civil War?

Start here.

No comment.

7 thoughts on “Want to Take a Course for Credit on the Civil War?

  1. Al Mackey October 22, 2013 / 2:56 pm

    Doesn’t look like it’s quite ready yet.

  2. Ann Kunkle-Jones October 22, 2013 / 4:16 pm

    I see nothing in my brief search of the site that mentions accreditation. You may earn “credits” at that site, but I know our school wouldn’t accept them.

    • Ann Kunkle-Jones October 22, 2013 / 4:24 pm

      I see what they are doing…CLEP testing prep. They are outdated as the cost I’ve seen for one CLEP test is $95. I know we only accept a few CLEP tests for credit at our school. Up to the individual academic department whether the test can be seen to cover course content. 95% of the subject CLEP tests aren’t accepted at our school.

  3. Jimmy Dick October 22, 2013 / 4:57 pm

    They don’t earn credit via Education Portal. They have to take a CLEP or AP test and then use that to transfer to a school. Excelsior and Dantes are the other options. I looked this over because they’ve ran help wanted ads for a while. They don’t pay much for what you do. It is only $125 for a 5 minute video lesson and they want 10 per month.

    What it seems like to me is they want to create bite sized video clips for students to learn from. The problem with this is that they bypass so much of what students need to learn in order to create a solid educational foundation that a full college degree requires. There are text based options available, but there is nothing that makes them think and has them process the information they’re given. The creative part of these lessons is missing.

    The online courses I’m currently teaching focus heavily upon active classroom discussion forums where the students converse with each other and the instructor. There are writing assignments which require students to read and analyze information from multiple sources, and then process it in order to answer questions posed to them. It appears that these courses at Education Portal are not doing that. They’re geared to get a student to pass a test that often is high school material.

    I think I should also add I have issues with AP and CLEP tests being used as substitutes for college credit.

  4. Jerry Desko October 22, 2013 / 6:59 pm

    I watched 48 seconds of the first segment to find out the cause of the war was about where the power should be and then Guelzo words were misused to attack Lincoln.

    Revisionist history or satire? I’m not sure. But I’m not going back to waste my time trying to figure out a nut case.

    Back to polishing bullets and re-foiling my hat, My razor blades have been under the pyramid all day and boy they are sharp!

Leave a Reply

