7 thoughts on “Christianity and the Civil War

  1. Jefferson Moon October 25, 2013 / 6:44 am

    Enjoyed this,sounds like the Chaplin’s Museum would be worth a visit.
    A couple of thoughts,before the war the north-south churches split over slavery,not the tariff,a omen of things to come,Walt Whitman choses the Christian Commission over the Sanitary Commission,as being more concerned with the needs of the soldiers,a personal thought,the slaughter of our Civil War was about as unChristian a thing as ever was.

  2. Clark B. Hall October 25, 2013 / 9:36 am

    About five years ago, maybe more, I gave a talk at Liberty University on a straight-up Civil War topic. Students, faculty and guests comprised the cordial audience and as we say in my business, the talk came off “without incident.” That said, it was a disconcerting experience due to a perceived absence of vitality, humor and curiosity. Either I was flat in the delivery; or, something else was going on at Liberty.

    I’ll blame myself.

    • Jefferson Moon October 25, 2013 / 2:59 pm

      We had a student from Liberty come to our gym,this was years ago, he was working with a local church for the summer.He was a interesting fellow,longer hair then I thought would be allowed at Liberty,he also had tatoos,we called him brother love and he would get really mad because I couldn’t pronounced Falwell right.He and some of the other guys would have stokers in the back room,those were some of my best times at Beano’s Gym…

  3. Charles Lovejoy October 25, 2013 / 8:41 pm

    I’m sure the good Christian people at Liberty University would love to burn my kind at the stake,,,, if they could legally get away with it… just thought I would toss that in 🙂

    • Jefferson Moon October 26, 2013 / 4:53 am

      My,my, such a blanket jugdment based on events that happened over 400 years ago.Should the folks at Liberty Charles, expect “your kind” to carry out human sacrifice if you all legally could ?

    • neukomment October 28, 2013 / 4:40 am

      Baptist history very clearly says otherwise…

Leave a Reply

