How a Small Mind Thinks (or the Fantasy Life of a Confederate Heritage Apologist)

How a Small Mind Thinks

Let’s try to follow what passes for logic in this person’s mind …

Apparent this person is upset that I highlighted the taupe/tan set of slogans in a post that showed she’s really interested in white people.

Note that I offered no comment as to its contents: I simply said that this is what she believes. Does she deny that?

Now, as to what I believe (and not what a deluded individual dearly needs to claim I believe):

I think the slogans are ridiculous. No one’s said that white people shouldn’t like white people; as to whether white people should prefer to associate with white people because they are white, well, I’m sure some people think that way, but I don’t judge people by the color of the skin, but rather the content of their character. In this person’s case, the content of their character is an empty vessel. So I don’t choose with whom I associate based upon their skin color, and I think the second slogan is ridiculous.

As for being proud of one’s heritage and history, I must admit I don’t think of white history or white heritage. Again, these terms seem utter nonsense to me. When I think of heritage and history, I think of American heritage and American history, as well as issues of religion, region, and ethnicity. I’m glad that I’m a New Yorker, and New York is a place of many races. But, as a Yankees fan, I didn’t root for Mickey Mantle or Bobby Murcer because they were white (and I rooted for Roy White, who wasn’t white), any more than I rooted for Derek Jeter or Mariano Rivera or Bernie Williams (or, to look at another sport, Bryan Trottier) because of their skin color or racial identity. I admire Jackie Robinson not because he was black but because of what he did. Race often comes to mind when it comes to non-white people, which, I’d suggest, is part of what some scholars call whiteness studies: I don’t see whiteness as the norm (certainly not in the United States). But I don’t honor heritage or history (or criticize it) based on issues of color and race: again, it’s content (behavior, character, action) that interests me.

I believe a black man said much the same thing fifty years ago.

I don’t know why I would take credit for someone else’s accomplishments. Who does? Oh, here and there one contributes to the result (say as a parent or a teacher), but I take pride in the accomplishments of others: I don’t take credit for the accomplishment of others.

No one here has said that white people are responsible for the world’s evils. Certainly I have not. Nor have I said anything about white guilt, whatever that is.

I simply pointed out that someone had a certain set of beliefs. As you can see, I find them problematic. That someone can’t understand that (and that such a person attributes to me beliefs that tell me a great deal about herself and nothing about me) suggests something of the mindset of the Confederate heritage apologist who bases their view of the world on what they imagine it must be to serve their own agenda.

That said, Connie Chastain has attacked people for being anti-racist, and so it stands to reason that by her own logic, she’s a racist. What a surprise. After all, here’s the heritage she honors:

Elijah Chastain said in the Georgia Secession Convention in 1861 that he believed that “every man, woman and child in the Southern States should own a slave,” and that “the best plan to do so was to open the African slave trade.”

The Chastain heritage remains intact. Can’t wait to hear more from her about white people problems.

21 thoughts on “How a Small Mind Thinks (or the Fantasy Life of a Confederate Heritage Apologist)

  1. Michael Confoy December 13, 2013 / 6:29 am

    Someone that worries so much about the color of one’s skin can only be a racist. Or perhaps there is something that would show up in a DNA test that is causing some self-loathing? I have never seen you concerned with it unless it is in a historical context or brought up by one of our so called “heritage” folks.

  2. Pat Young December 13, 2013 / 7:29 am

    Stop hating on the white folks Brooks.
    Take time today to talk to a white person-they won’t bite. In fact you might find out that they are a lot like you.
    Study white history. January, March, April, May, June, July, August, September, October, November, December are White History Months in our schools. Use the opportunity to read about important white people like Abraham Lincoln and U.S. Grant. You may know them now only as faces on our money, but Abe Lincoln was hailed by no one less than Frederick Douglass as an important supporter of Douglass’s work.
    Date a white person. Intraracial dating in now legal in all 50 states.
    Go to the “white part of town” and try “soulless food” like a McDonald’s hambuger or Starbucks coffee.
    Its not hard to do these things. When you open your eyes, you will find that white people are everywhere.

    • Jefferson Moon December 13, 2013 / 9:53 am

      Doubt if the professor would have trouble finding white folk where he lives and works…

      • Pat Young December 13, 2013 / 7:04 pm

        Perhaps they are there but he doesn’t see them.

    • Noma December 13, 2013 / 9:53 am

      Perhaps Ms. Chastain is the one who should stop hating on white folks!

  3. Al Mackey December 13, 2013 / 7:44 am

    Fish in a barrel. The sad part is, even with your detailed explanation, our good pal Connie still won’t understand.

  4. Thomas December 13, 2013 / 8:34 am

    I didn’t realize that you don’t think Whites should associate with other Whites, I thought it was just other Whites who say they can sing the praises of the Greek Golden Dawn all day and desire our military to drop bombs on abortion clinics, but whatever. Close enough I guess.

  5. Andrew December 13, 2013 / 8:41 am

    You do make a very good point. Somehow, some people want us to hate on people who want to abolish hate. I don’t get it. Connie really should explain her opposition to people who don’t think that it’s cool to hate on people because of things like “race”, sex, sexual orientation. I myself am very much anti-racist even if I don’t identify with that moniker. I love the argument that I am a hater and intolerant because I am against people who hate. By that logic, Rosa Parks was a bad person. I really think you’re on to something here Brooks.

  6. Schroeder December 13, 2013 / 10:00 am

    This upcoming novelette of hers should be a good one.

  7. Thelibertylamp December 13, 2013 / 2:10 pm

    What exactly is white culture and white heritage?

    Who defines that it consists of?
    Is it the preppy WASP culture?
    Old English culture?
    The hill billy stuff?
    What is white?
    Are Eastern Europeans white?
    People from Spain?

    Jews, what about us Jews? Are we white? We have to mark down that we are on forms, but these pro-whities say we are not.

    So now, bagels, latkes and matzo balls are/aren’t part of the WHITE culture?

    Can someone help me out here?

    • Jimmy Dick December 13, 2013 / 6:03 pm

      What’s the deal? Don’t you get all your information from Fox News? The only Jew who was white was Jesus! Just ask Megyn Kelly.

      • Thelibertylamp December 13, 2013 / 8:27 pm

        I guess I need to watch more Faux News for the updates on what race and color Moses and Abraham was too?

        What would we do without Faux News?

    • Pat Young December 13, 2013 / 7:03 pm

      Liberty Lamp writes “Jews, what about us Jews? Are we white?”

      No, sorry.

      • Thelibertylamp December 13, 2013 / 8:24 pm

        Pat- Well, if I am not white then why do I have to mark off that I am on all the forms I fell out?

    • Jennifer December 14, 2013 / 10:27 am

      I’ll really throw you a better one: how about hillbillys (mixed metis/creole/hillbillies at that…great grannies’ family was here a long, long time) who marry Irishmen, who then marry Italians who have Jewish great grandparents? And the product of all that sweet mixing marries a German dude?
      Pot greens with chicken cacciatore and a side order of spuds fried in matzo meal!

      I think we’ve safely found our “white culture” here folks!

      Sorry, had to jump in — I usually just read civil war forums, but this stuff is just getting silly.

      • Thelibertylamp December 14, 2013 / 10:58 am

        Jennifer I agree with you 100%. Our country is a melting pot of all cultures and races.

        My family has everyone, I have cousins of all colors and races.

        A progressive society is a society that grows together, not fight for separation.

        I am glad you jumped in, please feel free to anytime🙂

  8. B Parks December 13, 2013 / 2:46 pm

    Connie, Carl ‘Rodent’ Reb, and that lunatic Mike Lamb are clearly racists, anti-sematic and a bit disturbed. In their own pathetic way, they actually make me ashamed to be white. Worst of all and the most bothersome aspect of their mental illness to me is the blatant way the exhibit it. They either 1. Don’t care that we know the REAL them, 2. Are too stupid to realize they have exposed themselves or worse off, 3. Think their point of view is perfectly natural and acceptable. It’s gotten so bad over at Backsass in the comments section that a part of me suspects this is all a put on. Nobody could possibly be THAT clueless and have a day job. Oh wait, they are pretend authors and Confederate crusaders. And BTW, Mike Lamb says he gives his opponents the ‘black flag’, I’d love one Mike. Can I get a Jolly Roger Pirate flag while you are handing them out. If this is the ‘intellectual offspring’ of the great ‘southron rebellion,’ (that’s how y’all spell it right?) no wonder they lost the war. They probably had their guns pointed the wrong way. LOL!

    • James Knox December 13, 2013 / 7:52 pm

      Connie Chastain is an embarrassment not just to neo confederates, but to women in general. Her view of slavery, race, gender, and American history is so corrupt and distorted I pray that she never reproduced. I can just imagine what dinner time would be at the Chastain house…like a racist Brady Bunch. To defend or try to dampen the abismal act of slavery is a sin. And that neo-tard Mike Lamb is ten times worth. Love to drop him in the middle of Compton and see what happens. Ha!

      • Thelibertylamp December 13, 2013 / 8:41 pm

        James- Connie is in her 60’s, I don’t think we have to worry about her having kids at this point.

Leave a Reply

