Learning To See Beyond Race … ?

colbert(h/t Mehdi Fernando)

8 thoughts on “Learning To See Beyond Race … ?

  1. Bob Nelson February 5, 2014 / 12:16 pm

    Dumb question. Who is this guy? Neither the name nor the face ring a bell. I assume this is from a video clip somewhere? If so, is it accessible?

    • Roger E Watson February 5, 2014 / 2:21 pm

      Sheltered life, Bob ? 😉 Stephen Colbert. The Colbert Report. He’s poking fun at racists. Like that’s hard ! Check further down on the Coke commercial post.

    • Bob Nelson February 5, 2014 / 6:38 pm

      Yeah, guess I do, Roger. LOL Just have too many things to accomplish and watching news commentary television — or much television at all — just isn’t very high on my list.

    • Carter February 5, 2014 / 5:08 pm

      He’s the white guy speaking English. And he speaks only English on his show. Very, very racist guy.

      • Brooks D. Simpson February 6, 2014 / 2:58 pm

        Austin Melbourne Carter … I’m amused that people who whine about Corey Meyer’s sock puppets don’t hold you to the same standard. But such is Confederate pride … like the half-deserted Springfield Mall.

  2. Bob Nelson February 6, 2014 / 5:59 pm

    Having done some research (thanks Roger), I now know a little about Colbert, although having watched some of his clips I don’t find him nearly as funny as Mark Russell. Rather like comparing Johnny Carson and Jay Leno. Leno is funny, but Carson was the “king” of late-night humor. I see where they are now selling DVDs of Carson. Wonder if they will be doing the same for Leno twenty years from now?

    I never watch or listen to the extremists — Limbaugh, O’Reilly, Imus, Hannity or the rest. Seriously, I actually had to look them up to find out who the hell they are. Personally, I suspect they have done more to divide our country than anybody since the 1860s. We live in an “us vs. them” society. You’re either “with us” or you’re “against us.” I can’t talk about politics with my brother-in-law (who spends a good part of every day listening/watching ultra conservative broadcasts) because we will immediately get into an argument. I find that very sad.

  3. Bob Nelson February 6, 2014 / 6:22 pm

    As for Colbert’s comment, “I just pretend everybody’s white,” I understand he’s making fun of the conservatives. Still. I see everyone in different colors with different languages, dialects and cultures. My three children are adopted Koreans. Love ’em to death and the five grandkids. I love Indian food, Thai food, Korean food, Mexican food and more. You haven’t lived until you’ve had bulgogi or kimchi made by my son. Out of this world! I even like much of the music. I have friends/co-workers who are Black, Jewish, Syrian, Catholic, Hispanic, Oriental and all combinations in between. As the song lyrics go, “What a wonderful world.”

    My best friend ever, Roger Finlan, died this last September. He was the HS principal in Montague and for the last 15 years or so taught diversity classes at Grand Valley State University. Although he was a liberal Democrat, he was always able to see/ understand the “other side.” May we all be Roger Finlans.

Leave a Reply

