Fame Comes In Many Forms

A friend of mine recently passed on to me a still from this season’s House of Cards (I don’t view the seasons via Netflix or Amazon; I wait for the DVDs/BluRays to come out). I understand that there’s a story line about Civil War reenactments at Spotsylvania involving the central character, but I didn’t quite expect this image:

House of CardsThat’s right: Vice President Francis Underwood is reading Gordon Rhea’s book on the battle of the Wilderness. One can also see works by Andy Trudeau, William Matter, and a volume edited by Gary Gallagher on the Wilderness Campaign that contains essays by Gary, John Hennessy, yours truly, and others.

I wonder how this will look on my annual Faculty Activity Report … under public outreach, I guess.

5 thoughts on “Fame Comes In Many Forms

  1. Thelibertylamp March 19, 2014 / 8:00 am

    This show has some interesting surprises, they also took a risk and gave a shout out defense to my friend Barrett Brown.

    Congrats! It must be the good taste of this show!

  2. Jerry Desko March 19, 2014 / 9:59 am

    Wow, professors have public outreach requirements also? I stream Netflix, I’ll have to go back and catch a glimpse of your book. You have hit the big time now!!

  3. Al Mackey March 19, 2014 / 10:08 am

    How’s this for a coincidence? I just read your essay in that book this past Friday night.

  4. jfepperson March 19, 2014 / 12:03 pm

    He should have been reading “Civil War in the East.” đŸ˜‰

  5. Rob Baker March 20, 2014 / 10:38 am

    Brooks,

    I saw this episode and that book. I had a good chuckle over it. It is quite an interesting episode in terms of Civil War Memory, and the character Frank Underwood facing his own memory of the war.

Leave a Reply

