5 thoughts on “Whither the Overland Campaign: June 1864

  1. Roy June 10, 2014 / 2:04 pm

    Is Allen Guelzo’s criticism of Meade valid, in your opinion?

    • Brooks D. Simpson June 10, 2014 / 2:25 pm

      Do you mean in the Gettysburg book? I would not be so harsh on him.

  2. John Foskett June 10, 2014 / 3:35 pm

    I could be wrong but I assume that’s a map which depicts the James River. An end and a beginning.

  3. Bert June 10, 2014 / 5:16 pm

    I know this is a loose association. But I must say I looked at this for a full minute, and suddenly chuckled at the image and possible caption reply. A distracted George Gordon “Snapping Turtle” Meade, saying, “What was that General Grant? I was busy killing this large turtle with my sabre.”

  4. Noma June 10, 2014 / 6:52 pm

    “What do you think, General Meade?”

    “Hmmm … Did I just hear someone call my name?”

    “Can you keep a secret?”

    “Eh?”

    “The biggest secret of the Civil War. Has to do with a bridge that lasts only 3 days…”

Leave a Reply

