How Southern Are You?

Well, take this quiz and find out.

24 thoughts on “How Southern Are You?

  1. Goad Gatsby July 7, 2014 / 3:00 pm

    I only got a score of 83%. The southern gentleman who damaged my amp received a score of 100%.

      • Goad Gatsby July 7, 2014 / 11:18 pm

        This quiz has a few meat questions and I don’t haven’t eaten meat in almost 10 years.

        • Tony July 8, 2014 / 7:17 am

          Then you’re not Southern. Down here, even vegetables are a meat dish.πŸ™‚

  2. Bob Nelson July 7, 2014 / 3:13 pm

    I got 78% which is pretty good for a guy that grew up in Illinois and lived all of his adult life in Michigan. The best part of “being Southern” is the food. The food. The food!!! My wife and I (both teachers) spent a number of Christmas breaks along the Gulf Coast in places such as New Orleans, Mobile, Biloxi and Gulf Shores. Did I mention the food? BTW, this quiz has come up on Facebook a number of times in recent years.

  3. rortensie July 7, 2014 / 3:24 pm

    Love the question: “You’re off to a pig pickin’!”

  4. John Foskett July 7, 2014 / 3:47 pm

    77%. Of course, I then did NYC and got 85%. Now that;s downright revolting.πŸ™‚

  5. M.D. Blough July 7, 2014 / 4:18 pm

    I am 83% Southern, which is a hoot. I suppose the fact that Mason-Dixon Line is the southern boundary of my home county in Pennsylvania and the fact that I spent much of the second half of the 1990s hanging out with the North Carolinians of the Longstreet Memorial Fund (I don’t dare send this to any of them. The incorrect options in the question on North Carolina bar-b-q
    would cause them to stroke out in apoplectic rage. ☺) may have some impact. BTW, I’m not kidding about the home county. I grew up just outside of a village called Thomas Mills which is called that because there is a feed mill there that is own and operated by the Thomas family and there are at least two areas near me whose name includes the world Hollow.

  6. Tony July 7, 2014 / 9:10 pm

    Silly quiz … only assholes use “bless your heart” derisively. Born and raised in Mississippi, only heard little old ladies use this as a term of sincere sympathy. But then, I don’t hang out with assholes.

    Another thing they got wrong is this: the only thing special about Carolina BBQ is that it is an abomination unto The Lord. Verily I say unto thee, keep those infernal mustard and vinegar sauces off thine BBQ.

    • M.D. Blough July 8, 2014 / 5:09 am

      All I know is that the North Carolinians I know would be appalled to find anything other than pork associated with the name BBQ. I was taught that the phrase pork BBQ is redundant.

      • jfepperson July 8, 2014 / 6:59 am

        Best BBQ in the world is western Kentucky chopped mutton from Old Hickory in my hometown of Owensboro. I was practically raised on the stuff. Every Sunday Mom would take us to church, then to Old Hickory for lunch.

    • Tony July 8, 2014 / 8:01 am

      It’s funny to see the different regional variations in what constitutes a BBQ sauce. From Hattiesburg to the Mississippi gulf coast, people use this sickly mess that’s more sugar than tomato … hardly any spice to it at all. I swear, sometimes it just tastes like flavored honey.

      Never understood why Leatha’s or The Shed became so popular, I suppose people enjoy a little bit of meat with their sugar. Even Guy Fieri looked grossed out when he watched the guys at The Shed making their sauce … and his show *revolves* around unhealthy food.

      Seems like they used sugar, brown sugar, molasses, honey, and a touch of tomoto paste to bring all the flavors together. πŸ˜‰

  7. neukomment July 8, 2014 / 9:03 am

    I’m waiting for the “How much Yankee are you?” Quiz….

  8. Eric A. Jacobson July 8, 2014 / 9:19 am

    Oh I’ve heard “bless your heart,” “bless his heart,” and bless her heart,” used quite derisively. it took me a while to figure it out, but when I did…oh boy. We have a similar contextual term in the North (at least when I lived there), but it is only two words. πŸ™‚

    Btw, I scored 77%. Not bad for a borderline Canadian.

  9. Jimmy Dick July 8, 2014 / 12:33 pm

    I got 37%. If it isn’t from Kansas City it ain’t BBQ sauce and Coca-Cola is the national drink of America.

    • Mike Rogers July 8, 2014 / 3:53 pm

      I would posit that bourbon is the national drink of AmericaπŸ™‚

      • Tony July 8, 2014 / 8:28 pm

        I would add that if you haven’t been drinking caipirinha that past few weeks, you’re missing out.

        • Jimmy Dick July 9, 2014 / 10:29 am

          I agree although I prefer margaritas. Either way I would love to have been to the games in person.

  10. Lee Elder July 9, 2014 / 7:58 am

    I got a 25 percent. That is odd because, biologically, I am half Southern.

  11. Buck Buchanan July 9, 2014 / 12:21 pm

    Dear God!

    100%!!!

    That’s what happens when you stick a Bostonian in Georgia & Virginia (minus 5 years in Germany) since 1981!!!

    And the only bad BBQ is none!

  12. Mnemosyne July 9, 2014 / 1:21 pm

    I got 43%. That seems like a lot for an Italian-American who’s lived in Chicagoland for her entire life and who’s ancestors have lived in Chicago for about 100 years. I remember reading about “bless your heart” being a slight somewhere before. Connie Chastain seemed to use it that way a lot.

    I understand that barbecue differs greatly throughout the South and maybe if I was more of a food person I would’ve known the answer to the question about it. However, I don’t understand what’s so bad about North Carolina barbecue (Stephen Colbert, a South Carolina native, has said that it’s not “real” barbecue). If someone with more knowledge on the subject could enlighten me, that would be great.

Leave a Reply

