8 thoughts on “Disney Fights the Nazis

  1. rortensie July 9, 2014 / 8:53 am

    Wow!

    I used to use this WWII propaganda material in my classrooms and even had some of it up around my desk here at work before we went to this “touchy-feely” force. Now, I cannot have it up because it “could” offend someone….

    http://libraries.ucsd.edu/speccoll/dswenttowar/

    • centerforhistorystudies July 9, 2014 / 10:29 am

      As an American of German ancestry, married to a German immigrant, and having lived in Germany for more than a year, all I can say is: let it offend! No German today worth his sauerkraut sustains Naziism. Whoever is “offended” is blind to history and to humanity.

      • Marie July 9, 2014 / 8:31 pm

        Hey my good German American friend, good comment, cool Grant

  2. Rob Baker July 9, 2014 / 1:19 pm

    Brooks,

    I show this video every year in class Brooks. We spend a day talking about WWII propaganda. This goes into the way I teach the war as well. I was at a Conference a while back in which the presenter focused on WWII from a race war perspective. I found that incredibly interesting and so I’ve used some of that in my class. We talk about the way different groups that fought in WWII, fought each other: U.S. vs Germany; U.S. vs Japan; Japan vs U.S.; Japan vs the rest of Asia; Germany vs U.S.; and Germany vs the U.S.S.R. It is interesting to look at the level of violence on the different fronts of war and how that correlates with how these people viewed their race and the opposition’s race.

    We also look at a few other videos and talk about Disney’s role as a propaganda machine. I highly recommend “Der Fuhrer’s Face” for anyone that has not seen it. Disney also created a plethora of instruction videos for the Army and helped sale long range bombers to the allies. I really need to blog more about this because it is something that fascinates me.

      • John Foskett July 10, 2014 / 7:45 am

        My uncle was in the USAAF and there’s a photo of him and Walt in the studios with an insignia Disney had designed for his unit.

        • rortensie July 10, 2014 / 10:05 am

          John,
          I’ve had the pleasure of holding a few of the originals while processing them in while helping the NMUSAF. There are quite a few on display at the NMUSAF.
          Ray

          • John Foskett July 11, 2014 / 9:00 am

            Ray: Interesting. As I recall, my uncle was stationed at March Field at the time (before going to Italy). The photo had him and another officer flanking Disney.

Leave a Reply

