15 thoughts on “Pick Your Confederate Nickname

  1. Goad Gatsby July 20, 2014 / 11:21 am

    I like that there are postbellum terms like redneck and hillbilly.

  2. C. Meyer July 20, 2014 / 1:22 pm

    Bonnieblue Greyback…I wonder if that is like a bloodyback or lobsterback from the Am. Rev.?

  3. Bert July 20, 2014 / 4:23 pm

    What would Jesus be? Banjo Hogdriver.

    Now, the kid from Deliverance driving pigs in the typical Messiah regalia is too much. Thanks for making my day.🙂

    Sincerely,
    The Savior’s other brother Yellowhammer

  4. Jack Grove July 20, 2014 / 7:13 pm

    Was HK Edgerton really born on May 17th as “Dixie Outfitter?”
    Glory be!, hallelujah!!!

  5. OhioGuy July 20, 2014 / 8:14 pm

    Well, I see I’m Mississippi Yellowhammer . . . better I guess than Yellowbelly!🙂

    Hey, I’m not prejudice, some of my best friends are Confederates . . . .

  6. Buck Buchanan July 21, 2014 / 5:52 am

    Mississippi Raider here.

    But you can call me Grierson!

    • Reader July 21, 2014 / 8:38 am

      Wow! That is GOOD!

  7. SF Walker July 21, 2014 / 1:37 pm

    Looks like I’m Bayou Moonshine…which sounds like it would have been the perfect flip side of Rusty and Doug Kershaw’s country single “Louisiana Man”…

    • Bert July 21, 2014 / 4:42 pm

      Looks like you got the coolest name so far by luck of the birthdate draw. I’m jealous. Then again, we should all count our blessings that we weren’t born Sept 9. Hard to be proud of that one… or even say it after a little moonshine.

      • SF Walker July 22, 2014 / 1:10 pm

        Grey Goobergrabber…ouch. Now that would be an unfortunate nickname! April 3 would be a bad one, too—Rebellious Haversack. Very odd.

  8. OhioGuy July 21, 2014 / 4:30 pm

    My wife would be Gray Sharpshooter, and I believe that’s ageist!😉

  9. TF Smith July 22, 2014 / 9:30 am

    Jeff Davis – Southern Haversack
    Varina Davis – Dixie Bowlegger
    Robert E. Lee – Stonewall Fury
    Mary Custis Lee – Redneck Soldier

    This is actually kind of entertaining…

    • Andy Hall July 22, 2014 / 11:18 am

      I was intrigued to see that “Barefoot Toothpicker” is an acceptable form of address. I wouldn’t have thought that, but the flag says so, so it must be true.

Leave a Reply

