5 thoughts on “August 6, 1979: Bobby Murcer 5, Baltimore Orioles 4

  1. Salvador Litvak August 6, 2014 / 6:43 pm

    Seems like yesterday. I had a Bobby Murcer bat I got on bat day in 1973. A very touching memory.

  2. Bert August 7, 2014 / 5:13 am

    Thanks so much for this. I recall we discussed this game when Bobby Murcer passed away a few years ago (although in my memory, I had transposed his earlier homer with his 2 RBI single). Maybe Orioles fans feel differently, but I feel this game is right up there with the Miracle on Ice the following year as one of the three most amazing and satisfying games I’ve seen (Super Bowl III being the other).

  3. John Kirn August 7, 2014 / 7:15 am

    Thanks for the memory. Cosell, Drysdale, Keith Jackson, were staples of my childhood as was Thurman Munson, even though I was a Mets fan. He was just a nice person.

  4. Rosemary August 8, 2014 / 5:40 am

    His death touched a lot of people… I didn’t know of him (he was just a Yankee and Indians fans don’t care where NY Yankees come from, we just don’t like ’em) …. but shortly after the accident I was hired at the Canton newspaper where among staffers the shock hadn’t diminished and sympathy for his family was profound. Rest in peace, TM.

Leave a Reply

