16 thoughts on “The Next Big Flag in Virginia

  1. Rosemary August 10, 2014 / 5:30 am

    At this point, would finding Lilly be considered a win for you?

    • Brooks D. Simpson August 10, 2014 / 9:44 am

      Finding Lilly would be the right thing. A father wants to find his daughter.

      • Rosemary August 10, 2014 / 9:58 am

        Yes it would be right… Absolutely.
        Seeing the level of animosity expressed I wonder if those opting to hide Lilly become more entrenched in their decision so as to deny those they oppose whatever these opponents want.
        Of course, I have no explerience with flagger types.
        The story of Lilly is upsetting.

        • Brooks D. Simpson August 10, 2014 / 12:17 pm

          The best way to find a missing person is to publicize, publicize, publicize. This isn’t about “winning” or “losing,” That would reduce me to the level of certain critics.

          Given Lilly’s visibility with the Virginia Flaggers and the fact that so many of the Flaggers and their friends visit this blog, drawing attention to the situation and publicizing it might help bring people forward. Not everyone thinks as some people do.

          • Rosemary August 10, 2014 / 1:22 pm

            I am not talking about you, Dr. S. I worry that people with deep conviction, flaggers, would exert peer pressure to protect the mom and keep the kid in hiding.

          • Brooks D. Simpson August 10, 2014 / 1:26 pm

            The response of the Flaggers and their friends has been to attack me. They have different priorities. apparently, when it comes to missing children.

          • Rosemary August 10, 2014 / 1:33 pm

            I should just keep quiet. This is a very tough blog. I like you a lot, Dr. S. I enjoy your talks and my biggest complaint about you, if I have to have one, would be that NYYankee fan thing…. I started off my posting experience here being “outside the inside” and I’m still a civil-war-issues novice. I’m going to study up more before chiming in again.
            I think it is great you are working for Lilly.

          • Brooks D. Simpson August 10, 2014 / 1:53 pm

            Thanks. I acknowledge that some people find my team allegiances to be shortcomings. That’s their problem. 🙂

    • Goad Gatsby August 10, 2014 / 10:59 am

      If one person with the smallest amount of information reads this and comes forward, then it is a win.

  2. Rosemary August 10, 2014 / 1:23 pm

    augh!!

    • Rosemary August 10, 2014 / 1:36 pm

      The “augh!!” posted above is in response to use of word “win” in Goad G post above… I agree it would be a win…. but I never meant to introduce the idea of a game… I was just thinking about growling people practicing meanness when I began the whole concept of “win.”

      • Goad Gatsby August 11, 2014 / 4:47 pm

        I didn’t think of this as a game. I have been in communication on facebook with the family of the victim and take this very seriously. I realize now that “win” wasn’t the best word.

  3. Matt McKeon August 10, 2014 / 2:20 pm

    I can think of a location of a new flag that would be just right. But its not on the list!

    • Brooks D. Simpson August 10, 2014 / 3:01 pm

      You are not the only person who offers that observation. However, I prefer a second suggested answer: Who cares?

Leave a comment