11 thoughts on “Captions, Please …

  1. Matt McKeon October 5, 2014 / 5:38 am

    I’m going to put snark aside for the top photograph. We have two men, comfortable with their expression of love and commitment to each other. Love is always something precious and transcendent, and I hope they have many years of joy and companionship.

    The guy on the bottom photograph however, if he’s trying to pick up those two cyclists, he’s got to rethink his approach.

  2. Matt McKeon October 5, 2014 / 5:42 am

    caption bottom photograph:

    “Ignore him. He’s a Virginia flagger. He says he’s got a big flag, but you can barely see it.”

  3. Bob Nelson October 5, 2014 / 9:49 am

    Top — “Luke, I am your mother.” Actually, I rather admire the necklace. Think it would look good with my prom dress next spring. Bottom — “Can you girls tell me where the javelin event is being held?” Or, “May the force be with you. Here, take my light sabre.”

  4. E.A. Mayer October 5, 2014 / 11:09 am

    Who awarded the medals to Tripp? Himself? What could they possibly be for? Bravery in the face of sunburn? The actual Confederacy itself didn’t even issue any medals did it? But then historical accuracy isn’t their forte is it?

  5. Muhammad E. Lee October 5, 2014 / 11:32 am

    Top: NeoConfederate Gothic
    Bottom: This Week’s Staged Encounter With Richmonders of Color Who Do Not Care To Listen
    Or
    Norwood’s Pajammy Jam

  6. John Foskett October 5, 2014 / 12:29 pm

    I’ve always thought that the ANV consisted of lean, nearly starving, foot soldiers who lived off of skimpy and poor rations. Every time I see these costumed jokers, however, I conclude that the historical picture we’ve gotten is dead wrong because the CSA’s best army had a revolving account at Denny’s. But then, having watched those cinematic cow flops from Maxwell and Turner, I already knew that the ANV’s average BMI was a nutritionist’s nightmare. On the positive side, they apparently were in full compliance with the Age Discrimination in Employment Act.

  7. Pru Waller October 5, 2014 / 1:26 pm

    1
    OK then, why don’t we just start the bidding? Do I hear, uh, fifteen? Fifteen greybacks?

    2
    Yeahhh, Goad’s aight, I listen to his stuff… if you’re into that whole PC trip. I guess I’m just more of a rebel.

  8. C. Meyer October 5, 2014 / 6:04 pm

    1. I can’t do better than “Confederate Gothic”, so I won’t try.

    2. …and then they arrested me and assaulted my daughter. I am going to sue them once I find the time. We are very busy flagging just about anything these days.

  9. Goad Gatsby October 5, 2014 / 6:57 pm

    “Why yes, this is period appropriate.”

  10. Bert October 6, 2014 / 3:47 pm

    Top: “Hey, if there were Black Confederates, why not Gay Confederates! We embrace all groups who didn’t really fight for the South!”

    Bottom: “Look at this guy, Jane! Doesn’t he know Halloween isn’t for another few weeks?”

  11. Rosemary October 8, 2014 / 8:31 am

    #1:
    Yeah, Magnolia baby, you’re real cute. But same-sex marriage is a lost cause.
    #2
    Tell me again why we enrolled here.

Leave a Reply

