Is the South More Racist?

So they asked in this video. As for the Confederate flag …

13 thoughts on “Is the South More Racist?

  1. Sandi Saunders August 27, 2015 / 8:49 pm

    I have never lived anywhere except in the South so I do not have any experience with other places but racism appears to be everywhere and always has been. N-S-E-W It is always under every surface and comes out in any debate.

    • Brooks D. Simpson August 27, 2015 / 9:02 pm

      I think the South is not unique in being racist, but it is different in how it comes out.

  2. SF Walker August 27, 2015 / 10:28 pm

    I think there is considerably less racism across the country now than there was 50 years ago–even 30 years ago. The fact that the current President was elected largely by whites attests to that.

    • Sherree August 28, 2015 / 7:41 am

      I believed this, too–that our nation is less racist today than it was fifty years ago, thirty, especially since we elected an African American President–until I read Ta-Nehisi Coates’ Between the World and Me. Coates pretty much shatters this new myth that we have created for ourselves.

      • Noma August 28, 2015 / 10:00 am

        “I think there is considerably less racism across the country now than there was 50 years ago–even 30 years ago.”

        I think it depends on where you are. I graduated from Port Clinton High School in northwest Ohio 50 years ago. Racism was there, but also white kids had black friends. Overt racism was at least frowned upon.

        I moved away many years ago, but still have relatives in the area. Today I see in the news that PC’s chief of police “refuses to apologize” for wearing a Confederate flag vest while on vacation. I feel like 50 years ago, that would not have been tolerated.

        Sadly, I don’t think there will be much objection in 2015. In general, I would say that Ohio is becoming more racist — not less racist than 50 years ago.

        http://www.theroot.com/articles/news/2015/08/confederate_flag_vest_wearing_ohio_police_chief_won_t_apologize.html

    • khepera420 August 29, 2015 / 11:13 pm

      I’m a black man, 62 years old. From my perspective it’s worse now than in any of my memories. I saw my mother have to go to the rear entrance of a Woolworth store to buy me an ice cream. I came of age during the black civil rights movement. I’ve lived in decades that saw what appeared to be steadily improving racial relations in this country. The election of Obama to the presidency caused a great many racist monsters to overturn their own rocks and expose themselves to the light of day for what they truly are. Believe me, you’ll find very, very few, vanishingly few, black people who agree with the sentiment that it’s better than it was 30 years ago. It’s much worse. That fact is denied at our national peril. Mark my words.

  3. bob carey August 28, 2015 / 11:00 am

    I concur with those who think that there is less racism than in the past. I have lived in the North all my life and definitely have seen a difference. I believe this can also be said of the South and the other parts of the US. That being said, I think that since the election of President Obama the racist element that remains in place has become more entrenched and vicious. As a country we have a long way to but we are traveling in the right direction, this includes the South.

  4. M.D. Blough August 28, 2015 / 11:26 am

    There’s the saying (I’m not sure who first said it): ” “In the North, they don’t care how big you get as long as you don’t get too close. In the South, they don’t care how close you get as long as you don’t get too big.”

Leave a Reply

