12 thoughts on “A Tremendous Trio: DiLorenzo/Napolitano/Woods on Lincoln

  1. Jacob Dinkelaker February 25, 2011 / 8:54 pm

    This is great. I have never seen so many historical documents and quotes taken out of context in my life. It was a good laugh.

  2. Al Mackey February 25, 2011 / 9:07 pm

    What buffoonery. Good grief.

    • Brooks D. Simpson February 26, 2011 / 3:23 pm

      I will withhold commentary on where Dr. DiLorenzo went to school. 🙂

  3. Arleigh Birchler February 25, 2011 / 10:39 pm

    Cousin Marc posted this one, also. I chastised him for watching Fox News.

  4. MarkD February 25, 2011 / 10:39 pm

    It’s funny how the one said “we now know . . .” Which means, he thinks he’s now determined something new based on the same evidence we’ve always had. Pretty sad.

  5. James F. Epperson February 26, 2011 / 8:21 am

    Somebody needs to engage these guys directly and show them up for the buffoons that they are. There is a real danger that failing to do so will allow their drivel to gain traction ala creationism.

  6. Daniel Sauerwein February 27, 2011 / 12:19 am

    Just watched a bit of this and loved how DiLorenzo attempted to use the Constitutional definition of treason against Lincoln. Excuse me, Mr. DiLorenzo, but if we are going to do that, then the South was guilty first by firing upon Ft. Sumter, which fits the definition of “levying War against them.” He also failed to consider that the second clause of that section states, “No Person shall be convicted of Treason unless on the Testimony of two Witnesses to the same overt Act, or on Confession in open Court.” (National Archives transcript of the Constitution)

    Now, I wonder if DiLorenzo can tell me just who was willing to testify to Lincoln’s treachery that the Congress would believe? I will say that I do think that Lincoln as the great emancipator does get overblown when considered against his views regarding race and slavery, as well as the fact that the 13th Amendment was not ratified until after his death. However, that does not mean that he was not a great president for leading this nation through its worst domestic crisis yet.

  7. Chuck Brown February 28, 2011 / 7:31 pm

    The saddest thing is that so many people get all of their knowledge about the Civil War from kooks like these three. It’s getting harder and harder to find books by reputable historians in book stores. My local Barnes & Nobel had the gall to put DiLorenzo’s books about Lincoln on the same table as those by real historians.

    Let’s see…Benjamin Thomas, David Donald, Michael Burlingame, James McPherson, and Thomas DiLorenzo? Pardon me while I stifle a giggle.

    • James F. Epperson March 1, 2011 / 5:55 am

      I have been known to call for the store manager and tell him that DiLo’s books (as well as “The South Was Right” [sic]) need to be put in the fiction section. Occasionally, I have just moved them myself.

  8. terry August 23, 2011 / 9:42 am

    By the way, Judge Napolitano is from New Jersey.

    I think Judge Napolitano has Dishonest Abe correctly described and identified for what he really was, a murdering tyrant.

Leave a comment